fbpx

submersible pump review the Aquaspeed A 4000
here is my video below testing it’s output. I will make another video measuring its output using a 1 inch hose

 

Here is the updated part 2 video of the aquaspeed submersible pump review

Below is a conversation in https://www.arowanafishtalk.com/

It seems that the review is negative maybe before it is not good yet since the forum was last 2014

Aquaspeed submersible pump is new here in our place and some of my friends have been using it for 6 months yet.

I will just observe also how long this pump will last

22nd May 2014, 01:14 AM
Hi bros,

I just hope to get some feedback pertaining to this pump (A3000). I have bought this pump around Mar 2014 and after using it for barely 2 weeks, it starts to get noisy and the best thing is, whenever I switch it off to change my filter wool or wash my medias, it stops functioning after I turn it on. It is only after I dismantle the propeller and assemble it back, only it works. But after a month, it died… Lolx!

I hope to check if any bros here encounter such an issue with this pump or if I am the ‘lucky’ ones. It is disappointing!
Breakthrough
22nd May 2014, 08:19 AM
You can try brining it back to the shop you bought it from
Some good shops will solve the problem for u
ipit
22nd May 2014, 08:49 AM
Is this the green packaging ones ? which is eco friendly in a sense doesn not use up much electricity ?
luks
22nd May 2014, 12:00 PM
Is this the green packaging ones ? which is eco friendly in a sense doesn not use up much electricity ?

i guess that’s what he is talking about.

I bought one 6500l but the it so slow as though 3500L only……decided to change the pump. It’s eco friendly save electricity but end of the day keep changing 2-3 pump and hassle you going to go through.
ipit
22nd May 2014, 12:01 PM
I almost bought it!! and its not really that cheap
Fishes
22nd May 2014, 01:47 PM
Same feeling I have here, the flow rate jus dont feel like wad is stated.
ipit
22nd May 2014, 02:39 PM
I considered this one thinking its the next most affordable brand. Im running Evo now.. wattage on a higher side but been about 1.5 years and so far so good.
johnchor
22nd May 2014, 09:00 PM
wah bros

lucky you guys gave feedback i also nearly buy the AS 4000L/hr series.
in the end i bought rio20… sebei heng nvr get cheated, thanks

i recently buy a small Resun 9w 550L/hr pump for my small 1.5ft tank. it is sooooooooo HOT and noisy. china brand pumps really cannot be trusted…
other things like wavemaker or lights china brand ok. but pumps…. shite they are so lousy hot and noisy……
ipit
23rd May 2014, 07:23 AM
Agreed. For low budget players like myself the brands that I go for are usually Atman, Evo and Sunsun hahaha. Sunsun wave makers are ok .. its only that the plastic becomes brittle after sometime.. other than that I have Wavemakers that are used and still innuse for close to 2 years
hoyg2k
23rd May 2014, 08:22 PM
I seriously regret buying it… It was bought from Pasir Farmway (the middle shop selling marine fishes). They say cannot exchange and have given back to the dealer to rectify the issue… I mean I was very much disappointed because it has been almost 2 weeks and the dealer did not get back to the shop owner!

It is a total waste of money to have bought this junk… I rather spend more to buy Rio. Even my existing Atman 3000 is still running strong after 3 years (including the usage by ex-owner)!
hoyg2k
23rd May 2014, 08:25 PM
Bros,

May I know which company is carrying this product? If need be, I am going over to their shop to get this issue fixed up… I am surprised that they need to take so long to check the problem of the pump as if it cost A FEW HUNDREDS! Please lor… Cost + Freight charges i dun think even S$10!

Thank you bros!
johnchor
24th May 2014, 08:06 PM
relax bro. lucky u have done a good deed to inform the bros here.
u will be reward for your good deed.

cheers!
AroChris
25th May 2014, 03:51 PM
Just to share my experience on the aqua speed pump. i bought it because of the power saving and c328 auntie recommend the A4000 before that i’m using eheim 1262. the flow rate on the AS A4000 is like alot lesser compare to 1262. i run it for almost 2 month the flow rate drop abit. after i switch back to eheim again. just to add on the pump is running a custom 6ft glass OHF.
Circuit
25th May 2014, 07:54 PM
Depends lar… I using this brand for my fgt 422
As lifestock low inside.

I using the A503PH I think abt 3000l/hr
It’s is stronger than my eheim 1250 , so I using it.

Last time I use that as wave maker for my 522. Just nice for surface as got 2 outputs.

V good and running for me. Hmmmmm
ipit
26th May 2014, 05:03 PM
maybe it’s affecting a certain batch..
johnchor
1st June 2014, 02:30 PM
there is the normal type and E type

c328 aunite says E type is stronger.
twistofate83
2nd June 2014, 10:47 AM
I think luck plays a part as well.

If you buey heng den even a branded one can fail you, though the chances are not that high compared to lower end brands….

Simply said, aside to luck, you get what you pay:)
acidjc
2nd June 2014, 11:15 AM
I have come across some website mentioning that the true power of the pump = flow rate x power consumption.. so which mean if the pump state energy saving..it also indirectly mean lower flow rate in respect to the overhead length..

e.g a 6000L/h pump at 100W compare to another 6000L/H pump at 50W, the 100W will able to push the water further and maintain the highest flow rate as possible as compare to the 50W pump. that is why some time when you compare a 6000L/H with an ehiem at only 3000L/H, the ehiem one will have bigger flow from the outlet as itself is running at 100W.

that is why, buying a pump not only see flow rate , power consumption, also must see the flow vs overhead distance.

for poor man hobbist like may of us.. we need to balance between initial investment , running cost and operational reliability.

but of cos, we need to goggle on review before buying any low budget pump.. cos most pump make in China and low budge mean low QA and workmanship and lower material grade.. so when buying budget item.. it all depend on luck… some will last a long time, some will degrade very fast and some even break down in a short period of usage.
cheapsale
2nd June 2014, 11:45 AM
Not very sure which brand you are referring to. I got 1 myself is the eco save electricity and in green packaging. My is 5000L still running well after a year bro.
johnchor
2nd June 2014, 07:34 PM
ya bro this one is true.

you are talking about head. example a tom800 vs a ehime the ehime will win in head.
but the ehime will consume more electrical power. it actually depends what we want when buying a pump.
if just a simple ohf with 2 layer trays then go for tom800 save electrical power but still decent flowrate and head.
if a 4 layer ohf example then the tom800 cannot make it laio needs ehime or rio laio…

cheers!

I have come across some website mentioning that the true power of the pump = flow rate x power consumption.. so which mean if the pump state energy saving..it also indirectly mean lower flow rate in respect to the overhead length..

e.g a 6000L/h pump at 100W compare to another 6000L/H pump at 50W, the 100W will able to push the water further and maintain the highest flow rate as possible as compare to the 50W pump. that is why some time when you compare a 6000L/H with an ehiem at only 3000L/H, the ehiem one will have bigger flow from the outlet as itself is running at 100W.

that is why, buying a pump not only see flow rate , power consumption, also must see the flow vs overhead distance.

for poor man hobbist like may of us.. we need to balance between initial investment , running cost and operational reliability.

but of cos, we need to goggle on review before buying any low budget pump.. cos most pump make in China and low budge mean low QA and workmanship and lower material grade.. so when buying budget item.. it all depend on luck… some will last a long time, some will degrade very fast and some even break down in a short period of usage.
johnchor
3rd June 2014, 01:55 AM
hi bros

today i bought a very small aquaspeed internal filter 500L/hr 1.2watts.
i was so happy wif 1.2watts but it was not excatly cheap at $9.50

u know what?
when i go home and test it… it was not even on par with my resun 200L/hr 5watts.
it can’t even pump up to 0.5m head while my resun magi200 ($10) easily pumps up to 0.7m head…

thats proves aquaspeed specs is a hoax…anyway i will still use it to connect directly to my TEC chiller as it is still usable…

cheers!
daniel86
3rd June 2014, 04:50 AM
For the longest time i wanted to buy the aquaspeed.

cheap, low wattt, high flow. where to find sia lol. but i got phobia of those MIC pump. for eg i got a jebao energy saving pump. not cheap leh, 100++. 1 year spoil liao.
rio20 also, used 1.5 years spoil. everytime off on got alot of sound

in the end i got a aquabee as replace instead. freakin ex. i think was ard 200. but power damm strong and reliable. off on no sound.
jotanjq
10th June 2014, 03:48 PM
i think i brought the pump for about 2 months, same issue as TS. now i am thinking which brand to buy. is tom 800 is good choice? or rio is good? any recommend?
super damn sian that 1 canister having problem but still running, AQUASPEED pump cannot be switched off. haha.
johnchor
10th June 2014, 05:45 PM
Hi bro jot,

how big is your tank? 422 without sand, i think tom800 is ok. bigger than 422 tom800 is not good enuff.
rio is much more expensive compared to tom800.
i used both.
jotanjq
10th June 2014, 05:50 PM
Hi bro jot,

how big is your tank? 422 without sand, i think tom800 is ok. bigger than 422 tom800 is not good enuff.
rio is much more expensive compared to tom800.
i used both.

4 x 2.5H x 2 tank. for use on OHF. 3 Tier tray. tom800 ok?

what do you think of both? can tom800 last? haha! so afraid of china brand. 😡
johnchor
11th June 2014, 11:59 PM
3 tray ohf tom800 not enuff power leh…
johnchor
12th June 2014, 12:01 AM
Bro your tank is larger than 422 but if no sand maybe can try tom800 la Tom is quite durable pump c328 is cheapest last buy is $43
johnchor
12th June 2014, 12:06 AM
Hi bros actually I found a use for aquaspeed pumps I buy a very small aquaspeed pump 1.2w only
It did not raise 1 degree of temp in my 1.5ft tank..hahahah.. So for bros who need low temp shrimp tanks. Aquaspeed might be and answer. I compared to other brands small pumps at 5w it raised 1-2 degrees temp.
jotanjq
12th June 2014, 03:58 AM
Bro your tank is larger than 422 but if no sand maybe can try tom800 la Tom is quite durable pump c328 is cheapest last buy is $43

Tom 800 not enough? Aquaspeed 3000 also can be use. I think tom 800 should be better than that aquaspeed? Yishun selling at $50
AroChris
12th June 2014, 10:24 AM
Tom 800 not enough? Aquaspeed 3000 also can be use. I think tom 800 should be better than that aquaspeed? Yishun selling at $50

Aquaspeed 4000E is on par flow-rate with Tom 800 base on my view as i have both running before. If you want i can sell you cheap. Hope it help:)
jotanjq
13th June 2014, 01:15 AM
Aquaspeed 4000E is on par flow-rate with Tom 800 base on my view as i have both running before. If you want i can sell you cheap. Hope it help:)

no no no i dont aquaspeed anymore, lucky i got a spare dymax. haha. before that i was thinking that dymax is too old, want to change it before it wear off. end up is a different story. LOL
AroChris
13th June 2014, 08:21 PM
no no no i dont aquaspeed anymore, lucky i got a spare dymax. haha. before that i was thinking that dymax is too old, want to change it before it wear off. end up is a different story. LOL
No worry im back to using eheim 1260 just nice for my setup. Cheers!
jotanjq
13th June 2014, 09:20 PM
No worry im back to using eheim 1260 just nice for my setup. Cheers!

i think i will stick to dymax first, while save money for ehiem canister. my rena xp3 is not doing good soon. 🙁
Alvinysc
13th June 2014, 10:13 PM
Tom 800 not enough? Aquaspeed 3000 also can be use. I think tom 800 should be better than that aquaspeed? Yishun selling at $50

You referring to Aquanic 3000? looks similar like tom 800. only around 3 red notes. I had few tanks running aquanic 3000 and tom 800. both the same.
johnchor
14th June 2014, 12:03 AM
hi bro alvin
is there flow rate difference between aquanic3000 and tom800?
cos aquanic3000 is rated ate 2000L/hr and tom800 is 3000L/hr…

thanks
huashao
24th October 2014, 08:26 AM
ehhh.. I just got a aquaspeed a2500e..

anyone here measure the power consumption before ?
CZQ
24th October 2014, 08:33 PM
ehhh.. I just got a aquaspeed a2500e..

anyone here measure the power consumption before ?not stated on the pump?
huashao
25th October 2014, 11:57 AM
not stated on the pump?

it was stated on the box. but whether got any deviation from the specs on the box itself , gotta check it out.
CZQ
25th October 2014, 06:31 PM
it was stated on the box. but whether got any deviation from the specs on the box itself , gotta check it out.made in? you need a watt meter.
rayclast
26th October 2014, 09:42 AM
Used aquaspeed pump before it started to fail on me as the flow gets lower after afew months. I using evo pump seems ok

Buy koi fish painting here

aquaspeed submersible pump review
aquaspeed submersible pump review 1

submersible pump review the Aquaspeed A 4000 here is my video below testing it's output. I will make another video measuring its output using a 1 inch hose

Editor's Rating:
0

Published by Giovanni Carlo

I am a koi fish keeper and breeder a husband of beautiful wife Maybel and beautiful daughter May Carl I have been in fish keeping hobby for over 35 years. Like many kids in the 80's We catch fish in the rivers and canals and kept it in the "pasong" local visayan name for pond. or a large mayo bottle since We don't have aquariums yet on that time. decades later their is a small petshop open in my place and that starts me from buying aquarium and fishes that are sold in the pet store decades later start growing goldfish and koi fish until today.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Call Now Button
%d bloggers like this: